Scott McTominay lied to Bruno Fernandes about Chelsea penalty

Scott McTominay lied to Bruno Fernandes about Chelsea penalty

Manchester United midfielder Bruno Fernandes said Scott McTominay told him he wasn’t holding Broja, suggesting the Chelsea penalty shouldn’t have stood.

As the game was approaching it’s end, with the scoreline still goalles, Erik ten Hag decided to bring in some fresh legs in a bid to steal the show late in the game and McTominay was among the players he brought on.

In the 84th minute, the Scotland international wrestled Broja to the floor inside the penalty box and the referee immediately pointed at the spot.

Manchester United players attempted to urge the referee to take another look at the incident after McTominay had told Fernandes that he wasn’t holding the Chelsea star.

VAR took a review of the incident and signalled that the initial call was right and Jorginho scored from the resulting penalty.

Fernandes told Sky Sports: “I said to the referee that in the Premier League this kind of contact is every game. I didn’t see it, I can’t say if it was right or not. Scott [McTominay] said he was not holding him. I don’t know.”

Scott McTominay Chelsea Manchester United Bruno Fernandes penalty

Manchester United scored the equaliser in injury time after Casemiro’s header was too powerful for Kepa Arrizabalaga to keep out.

Fernandes was pleased with Luke Shaw’s cross, saying: “It was a great cross from Luke Shaw and a great header by Casemiro. It was a fantastic goal.”

On Manchester United‘s performance against the Blues, the Portuguese star added: “We had chances in the first half and could have been 2-0 up. They got the goal from the penalty but we kept fighting. We got the point, it isn’t what we want but we never gave up.

“We kept fighting, the spirit was amazing. That’s why we got the point.”